The Lost Girl of Astor Street – Book Review

The Lost Girl of Astor Street 

By:  Stephanie Morrill

Find it on:

Amazon

Goodreads 

First Person • Fiction • One Point of View • 352 Pages

Find clue hunt/giveaway information, plus author interview here.

1

 

About the Book (Backcover Blurb):

When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia’s disappearance. Given that Piper’s tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society’s expectations of her, it’s no surprise that she doesn’t give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia’s abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she’s willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she’s willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill’s atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

Why I Choose this Book:

This is at least the fourth post in which I’ve talked about The Lost Girl of Astor Street in the last month, so you probably are getting tired of hearing how excited I am about it. The solution? Just read the book for yourself and see how cool it is. =)

Quick overview though: I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since Stephanie first mentioned she was writing it in 2014. I was intrigued right away, and the book did not disappoint.

What I Thought about this Book:

It was a total surprise. I’m not sure what I expected, but Lost Girl blew my ideas out of the water and pretty much amazed me. I was sucked into the world, intrigued by Piper’s point of view, and throughly enjoyed getting to know the characters better.

And, on the subject of characters, let me talk about them for a bit…

Piper – First of all, she has an incredible name, so cute. Second of all, I was pretty impressed with how very different she was from Stephanie’s other main characters. Piper was unique, experienced growth, and although I couldn’t always relate to her personally, I felt like I understood her. She was also very realistic, so yay!

Lydia – Lydia is a rather uncommon name in books, so it was a little bit weird to be reading about one (since I share the name). I’ll have to say, the plot twists with her were a total surprise to me. I liked her character, she was a good balance for Piper. It makes sense that the two of them would be best friends.

Walter – Goodness! I was caught between wishing the plot would go somewhere that it didn’t, and thinking YES! Finally, a book that gets it right! In the end, my happiness for the part Walter played in the story won out. I liked him a lot, and could relate to the relationship he had with the other characters quite well.

There are obviously a lot more characters I could talk about, but those were my top three I felt like discussing. On to the plot….

It’s a mystery. I knew that, but somehow I sorta forgot that when I began reading the book (probably because the other books Stephanie has written aren’t mysteries). It didn’t take long for the mystery part to erupt though, and erupt it did. The pacing of the book was really well done. The plot had twists. The mystery was intriguing. Altogether it was a fantastic book, and one I’m looking forward to re-reading after I receive the hardback copy I bought.

Conclusion:

I don’t condone all of Piper’s actions by any means, and there was some violence, etc…. For the most part though, it was kept vague and I was happy with it. Way to go, Stephanie!

Rating: 

I’m giving Lost Girl of Astor Street 4 out of 5 stars, and 8 out of 10.

*I received this book from the author

2 thoughts on “The Lost Girl of Astor Street – Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s